The 2017 Master Corporal Jan Stanislaw Jakobczak Memorial Book Award

(1898-1945 Category)

The U.S. Military History Group is pleased to request nominations for a book prize, named for Polish-born Jan Stanislaw Jakobczak (1914-2004), an Allied soldier of World War II.  Arrested by the Soviets in 1939, Jakobczak spent three years in the Siberian Gulag before his release into General Władysław Anders’ Polish II Corps.  After training in Persia and Palestine, Jakobczak and his compatriots fought alongside Allied forces in the Italian Campaign.  He received a head wound during the recapture of the Benedictine monastery of Monte Cassino.  After the war, Jakobczak emigrated first to London and later to Chicago, where he became a U.S. citizen.  This book award memorializes his odyssey and that of other Allied soldier-refugees who made their homes in the United States.

 The USMHG’s 2017 Jakobczak Award will recognize the outstanding book on United States Military History covering any topic, methodology, service, or region within (or substantially involving) the period 1898 to 1945.  The winning author(s) will receive a plaque and a monetary prize sponsored by the USMHG.

 The 2017 Jakobczak Award Selection Committee is composed of Thomas Hughes, Jörg Muth, and Jonathan Winkler, all authors of award-winning books.


Parameters and Deadlines:

 Nominated books must have a publication date of 2016 or 2017 and must be in print no later than July 1, 2017.  Please note that neither page nor galley proofs will be accepted. Subsequent editions or paperback re-issues of previously published works are likewise ineligible. No books will be considered for more than one year and for more than one award. 

 The Award Selection Committee will consider works by individual or multiple authors making substantial contributions to U.S. military history.  In addition, significant anthologies, memoirs, or reference materials are eligible.  Again, the work must deal with U.S. military history between 1917 and 1945.  If doubts arise, the committee will have the discretion to accept or reject a submission.  

 The deadline for submitting books to the Award Selection Committee is 1 March 2018.  To nominate a book, please send an email to Dr. David Ulbrich (, the committee’s non-voting secretary, who will record the nomination, provide the necessary mailing addresses to authors or presses, and manage the related correspondence. Please keep in mind that the USMHG requires four copies—one for each member of the selection committee, plus Dr. Ulbrich. Books submitted will not be returned to their authors or presses.



The Award Selection Committee will make its selection by 1 August 2018.  The winning author will be notified that same month.  Then, the USMHG will announce the 2017 Jakobczak Award-winning book and author via social media.  Finally, the award-winning book will be listed with the committee’s one-page endorsement in the December issue of U.S. Military History Review.  The committee’s decision is final.

Dr. Alexander Bielakowski,
Jun 13, 2017, 11:47 PM
Dr. Rae Bielakowski,
Sep 5, 2016, 1:15 PM