Colonel Richard W. Ulbrich

Memorial Book Award

(1775-1897 Category)

The U.S. Military History Group is pleased to request nominations for a book prize, named for Richard W. Ulbrich (1921-2008). He served as a bombardier in the USAAF’s 376th Heavy Bombardment Group during World War II. Ulbrich flew on strategic bombing missions on B-24s based out of southern Italy in 1944 and 1945. After the war ended, Ulbrich served in the U.S. Air Force Reserve and retired as a colonel in 1981. He eventually lived in Dayton, Ohio, where he sang many solos at churches, raised his family, and spent nearly four decades working as a civilian engineer at Wright-Patterson AFB. An oral history interview with Colonel Ulbrich can be viewed at

The USMHG’s 2021 Ulbrich Award will recognize the outstanding book on United States military history covering any topic, methodology, service, or region within (or substantially involving) the period 1775 to 1897. The winning author(s) will receive a plaque and a monetary prize sponsored by the USMHG.

The 2021 Ulbrich Award Selection Committee is composed of Edward Lengel, Samuel Watson, and Steven Sodergren, all authors of award-winning books.

Parameters and Deadlines:

Nominated books must have a publication date of 2021. Please note that page proofs will be accepted. Subsequent editions or paperback re-issues of previously published works are ineligible. No books will be considered for more than one year or for more than one award. The Award Selection Committee will consider works by individual or multiple authors making substantial contributions to U.S. military history. In addition, significant anthologies, memoirs, or reference materials are eligible. Again, the work must deal with U.S. military history between 1775 and 1897. If doubts arise, the committee will have the discretion to accept or reject a submission. Worthy books may also be considered for honorable mentions.

The deadline for submitting books to the Award Selection Committee is 1 July 2022. To nominate a book, please send an email to Philip Shackleford ( He is the committee’s new non-voting secretary, who will record the nomination, provide the necessary mailing addresses to authors or presses, and manage the related correspondence. Please keep in mind that the USMHG requires four copies—one for each member of the selection committee, plus Mr. Shackleford. Books submitted will not be returned to authors or presses.


The Award Selection Committee will make its selection by 15 October 2022. The winning author and publisher will be notified that same month. Then, the USMHG will announce the 2021 Ulbrich Award-winning book via social media. The committee’s decision is final.

Members of selection committee for 2021 Colonel Richard W. Ulbrich Memorial Book Award (1775-1897):

Dr. Samuel Watson

Dr. Steven Sodergren

Dr. Edward Lengel

Philip Shackleford (Non-Voting Secretary)