Captain Richard Lukaszewicz Memorial Book Award

(1946-2001 category)

The U.S. Military History Group is pleased to request nominations for a book prize, named for Richard Lukaszewicz (1946-2011), an American soldier who honorably served in the Vietnam War.

The USMHG’s 2021 Lukaszewicz Award will recognize the outstanding book on United States military history covering any topic, methodology, service, or region within (or substantially involving) the period 1946 to 2016. The winning author(s) will receive a plaque and a monetary prize sponsored by the USMHG.

The 2021 Lukaszewicz Award Selection Committee is composed of William Head, Stephen Taaffe, and Brian Linn, all award-winning authors.

Parameters and Deadlines:

Nominated books must have a publication date in 2021. Please note that page proofs will be accepted. Subsequent editions or paperback re-issues of previously published works are ineligible. No books will be considered for more than one year or for more than one award. The Award Selection Committee will consider works by individual or multiple authors making substantial contributions to U.S. military history. In addition, significant anthologies, memoirs, or reference materials are eligible. Again, the work must deal with U.S. military history between 1946 and 2016. If doubts arise, the committee will have the discretion to accept or reject a submission. Worthy books may also be considered for honorable mentions.

The deadline for submitting books to the Award Selection Committee is 1 July 2022. To nominate a book, please send an email to , the committee’s non-voting secretary. He will record the nomination, provide the necessary mailing addresses to authors or presses, and manage the related correspondence. Please keep in mind that the USMHG requires four copies—one for each member of the selection committee, plus Philip Shackleford. Books submitted will not be returned to their authors or presses.


The Award Selection Committee will make its selection by 15 October 2022. The winning author and publisher will be notified that same month. Then, the USMHG will announce the 2021 Lukaszewicz Award-winning book via social media. The committee’s decision is final.

Members of selection committee for Captain Richard Lukaszewicz Memorial Book Award (1946-2016):

Dr. William Head

Dr. Stephen Taaffe

Dr. Brian Linn

Philip Shackleford (Non-Voting Secretary)